Incognito Mode: pausing capture
Last updated: September 4, 2026
If you ever need to temporarily pause Highlight’s capture features, then you can enable Incognito Mode.
What it does Incognito Mode do
Incognito Mode temporarily pauses screen and audio capture. During the set time, either 1 hour or until tomorrow morning, Highlight won’t record or process any content. This is a great tool if you’re having a private or sensitive conversation, such as a 1:1, that you don’t want captured. It allows you to do focused work, or process confidential material while Highlight is completely inactive.
Here’s how to enable Incognito Mode
Open the app
At the top, find and select the hat and glasses (🕵) icon
Choose the time duration
For 1 hour
Until morning (6 AM local time)
How to turn Incognito Mode off
Once you’ve finished your sensitive work, Incognito Mode will automatically shut off at the requested interval, or you can end it early by re-selecting the hat and glasses icon (🕵).
When to avoid Incognito Mode
Incognito Mode is not suitable for all sensitive work or conversations because it must be manually toggled on each time, and some users are prone to forgetting this step.
If you routinely enable Incognito Mode for the same scenarios, the best practice is to utilize Advance Screen Context Settings, and to disable capture for specific apps, websites, or window titles. Read more about that here.