Highlight is Accessing Your Screen on Mac

Last updated: September 16, 2026

If you see a Mac privacy alert saying "Highlight is Accessing Your Screen", there's no need to be alarmed.

Because MacOS is very privacy focused, you will occasionally receive a reminder that you've enabled Highlight to view your screen content. You're free to change the settings at any time in your System Settings (System Settings > Privacy & Security > Screen & System Audio Recording).

As a reminder, Highlight provides you with incredible flexibility on that it uses for screen context within the app's settings. Here's an article with more detail: 📄 Configuring data & privacy screen context permissions